Contact us on (02) 8445 2300
For all customer service and order enquiries

Woodslane Online Catalogues

Tasman Cup 1964-1975

A celebration of Australian and New Zealand Motor Sport's greatest era
  • ISBN-13: 9780980858969
  • Author: Loxley, Tony
  • Price: AUD $94.95
  • Stock: 9 in stock
  • Availability: Order will be despatched as soon as possible.
  • Local release date: 27/08/2015
  • Format: Hardback (305.00mm X 220.00mm) 498 pages Weight: 2900g
  • Categories: Motor sports [WSP]Car racing [WSPC]Australia [1MBF]New Zealand [1MBN]

Perhaps to best understand the Tasman Series is to consider the importance that it held to the F1 teams of the day, best represented in the 1968 season, when Cosworth produced a special Tasman variant of its legendary DFV V8, known as the DFW, and the BRM arrived ‘down under’, with a reduced capacity version of its F1 V12 in its current car. In 1970 the Tasman Series adopted F5000 specification cars, and for six years the booming Chevy-powered races ruled the raceways on both sides of the ‘ditch’ with Brown, Hailwood, Goth, Simpson, Posey, Guthrie, Williams, Bartlett, Allen, Max Stewart, McRae, Lawrence, Matich, Walker, Oxton, Smith and more, providing the fans with even more wonderful memories in machines that were imported and home grown. ‘Tasman Cup- 1964-1975’ remembers those incredible days of yesteryear using ‘first person’ recollections from the drivers of the day, rare photographs, artwork, and memorabilia, much of which has not been seen prior to this sumptuous production. It is the ultimate Full Throttle trip down memory lane as remembered by the gladiators who made it an ultimate spectacle!.

Forewords by  Sir Jack Brabham, Sir Jackie Stewart and Warwick Brown • There are 40 First person memories from drivers and journalists such as: Chris Amon (OBE), Eoin Young, Will Hagon, Richard Attwood, Graeme Lawrence, David Oxton, Max Stahl, John Walker, Spencer Martin, John Harvey, Leo Geoghegan, Peter Windsor, Andy Buchanan, Warwick Brown, Derek Bell, Frank Matich, Kevin Bartlett, Mike Raymond, Niel Allen, Teddy Pilette, Allan Dick , Sam Posey, Vern Schuppan etc.Includes Tasman results, Pre Tasman and Post Tasman coverage ● The lay-out is stunning and will be a must have for all motor racing fans.

Google Preview content